How to Qualify for an Energy Efficient Appliance Rebate

By: Danny Lipford

The federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 allocated $300 million to fund state run rebate programs for residents in all U.S. states, territories, and the District of Columbia to replace existing appliances with new energy efficient models.

In order to receive funds, each state submitted a plan detailing which products would be covered, the amount of each rebate, and how consumers could apply for the rebate. The amount of funds awarded to each state or territory was based on population. Rebates must be distributed by February 2012. Individual programs will remain open as long as funds for appliance rebates are available.

Each state has its own set of rules concerning the amount of the rebate depending on the type of appliance. Rebates generally range from $50 to $500 per appliance and only apply if you are replacing an existing appliance.

A list of links to the appliance rebate programs for each state, district, and territory can be found on the U.S. Department of Energy website.

Appliances eligible for the rebate include Energy Star rated models of:

  • Air conditioners (room and central)
  • Boilers
  • Clothes washers
  • Dishwashers
  • Freezers
  • Furnaces (oil and gas)
  • Heat pumps (air source and geothermal)
  • Refrigerators
  • Water heaters

Further Information



Please Leave a Comment

We want to hear from you! In addition to posting comments on articles and videos, you can also send your comments and questions to us on our contact page or at (800) 946-4420. While we can't answer them all, we may use your question on our Today's Homeowner radio or TV show, or online at

How to Qualify for an Energy Efficient Appliance Rebate